Beautiful Women Everywhere

Can it be that northern women are more beautiful than their southern sisters? It was true in Spain, as far I’m concerned. Beginning my journey in Valencia – I thought that women there were perfect, just beautiful. Then I arrived in Madrid and almost instantaneously I’d forgotten about Valencian women. A week later I found myself in Barcelona and there I could barely remember the women of Madrid. In Barcelona I’d declared, if only to myself, that one day I shall present to my good mother a fine woman from this Catalan city. There was really nothing else to do.

Then I flew to Rome.

In Rome, I spied on the local chicas everywhere – on the streets, in a rally, in the Alien nightclub, in the piazzas – and by the end of it all declared that there’d be nothing for me but a Roman woman. Then Florence. Oh Florence, how I miss thee. Your women at least smile at visiting strangers – in a phrase, more beautiful than Rome’s. And now, Milano. Surely, no other woman, but one from Milan, makes the daily ritual of dressing seem as easy as breathing. Graceful and elegant is a woman of Milan.

So it’s true: northern women are more beautiful than their southern sisters. It must be weather up there.

1 Comment

Filed under Travel

One response to “Beautiful Women Everywhere

  1. Wendy

    “Interesting!”

    But at the same time, you are breaking many hearts in the southern… and your hometown… and even Hong Kong! ;-p

Leave a Reply

